Thursday Thoughts on Faith: How Should I Live?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I should live, because I claim to be a follower of Christ.

This poem attributed to St. Teresa of Avila has really been resonating with me:

“Christ has no body now on earth but yours,
No hands but yours,
No feet but yours,
Yours are the eyes through which to look out Christ’s compassion to the world,
Yours are the feet with which he is to go about doing good;
Yours are the hands with which he is to bless men now.

C.S. Lewis said something similar:

“Now the whole offer which Christianity makes is this: that we can, if we let God have His way, come to share in the life of Christ. If we do, we shall then be sharing a life which was begotten, not made, which always existed and always will exist. Christ is the Son of God. . . . He came to this world and became a man in order to spread to other men the kind of life He has—by what I call ‘good infection.’ Every Christian is to become a little Christ. The whole purpose of becoming a Christian is simply nothing else.”

Sometimes, I think as Christians, we focus too much on what we are against, and not on what we are for. Christ was for meeting people right where they were–for healing broken bodies and broken hearts. How can I meet real needs in the name of Christ? How can I truly become a “little Christ”?

Jesus says himself in Matthew 25 that we are honoring him when we honor others, especially the most vulnerable:

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’“

I’m not sure I have the answers to my questions yet, but I’m enjoying–and growing–by thinking it over.

Are you mulling over a particular theological question?

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts on Faith: How Should I Live?

  1. These are always good thoughts to mull over. One of my favorite books is about how to live as Christians – it’s called The Cost of Discipleship, by Dietrich Bonhoeffer. It’s incredibly powerful, but also very convicting – perhaps that’s why it took me forever to finish!

Leave a Reply

