Tuesday Weigh-In (Two Days Late): There is No Failure, Only Feedback

I’ll be honest: I’ve been struggling this week.

Tuesday morning was rough–my husband and I both had vehicle trouble–so I didn’t make it to the Weight Watchers meeting at 7:30 a.m. I was sure to weigh in, though, before I headed to the office. (I’m very lucky that my office is 2 blocks from a Weight Watchers store that has great hours. You can walk in and weigh in and/or purchase products almost all day, every weekday.)

The results of my weigh-in were not what I was hoping for. I gained 0.2 pounds.

Now, it was such a minor gain that it could have been due to my choice of clothing or the meal I had the night before, but it was still really discouraging. I was hoping for a more substantial loss after all of the exercise on Saturday and the fact I didn’t keep anything down that night.

After the weigh-in, I remembered something that I heard at Weight Watchers when I went several years ago: “There is no failure, only feedback.” I need to look past my unsatisfying results, figure out what happened, and re-adjust my behavior accordingly.

What worked last week: continuing to monitor my intake of sweets. I’ve cut down my intake of sweets from something every day to a small treat 2-3 times per week. I make sure what I do have is worth it when I do choose to treat myself. The cravings are not quite as bad as I thought they would be, honestly.

What didn’t work last week:
1. Eating more high-calorie foods. While I’ve been pretty careful to monitor my portions and fullness (except for when we went to Japanese hibachi last Friday night), I did have more high-calorie foods last week (including an abundance of fried rice at the hibachi restaurant and barbecue and macaroni and cheese twice on Sunday.)
2. Eating fewer fruits and vegetables. (Weight Watchers calls these foods “Power Foods,” along with some whole grains and lean proteins.)

Results of my goal last week (work out 2 times): Partial success. I did work out twice on Saturday, as noted in my last post, but I had in my mind to work out once per day, on two separate days. Unfortunately, I planned on working out last Sunday, but after Saturday’s episode, I decided to take it easy, and I haven’t done anything since.

My goals for my next weigh-in: Work out 2 times (once per day, on two separate days), determine a consistent exercise schedule, and stay steady with my weight.
1. The week is already quickly passing by, but I do want to make sure that I work out twice. My current plans are for Saturday and Sunday.
2. It’s time to get serious and make a consistent weekly workout plan. I think I’m just going to have to face the music that early morning exercise is going to have to happen. I’m planning on creating this tonight and implementing it on Saturday (in conjunction with the goal above.)
3. Ordinarily, I would be hoping for weight loss, but I think I need to be realistic this week. Unfortunately, I didn’t make the wisest choices at lunch today–sandwiches, chips, and sweets were provided for a lunch meeting–and last night I cooked a rich meal to celebrate our 3rd anniversary. (I can’t believe we’ve been married 3 years already!) I’m also going out to dinner tomorrow night with a friend; out to dinner Saturday night for a more formal anniversary dinner; and to brunch/lunch on Sunday after church. I will be happy if I can just sustain the loss I’ve already achieved.

Here is some wisdom from fellow blogger Clare at Peak313 Fitness that I need to remember every day–and especially at times when I am discouraged and not motivated:

“In a world where we can download a book immediately after buying, start our favorite show from DVR as soon as we want it, and get your meal from the phone to door in 20 minutes, there’s one message that can never be heard enough….

The LONG HAUL works. It’s not glamorous. It’s not sexy. It’s even counter-cultural. It’s not what you will or want to hear–but change–solid, lasting change–it takes time.

So whether it’s dropping weight, gaining muscle, increasing speed….fill in the blank…then you need to give the process time. Think about 3 months out before you even consider quitting or making a huge change. Trust the process. Stop changing it every time you get discouraged. Pray for a spirit of endurance and for faith to see beyond what’s looking back at you in the mirror.”

How do you push yourself to succeed when you’ve faced a setback or when you’re just not motivated?

How do you balance your love of delicious (sometimes high-calorie) food with healthy living?

What is your favorite healthy recipe? I need some ideas, especially for salads! (I’m currently a non-salad eater and can really only stomach spinach.)

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Weigh-In (Two Days Late): There is No Failure, Only Feedback

  1. Oh my goodness, I can totally relate to craving sweets–I always TRY to limit my intake, but that is truly my weakness!

    I definitely need to have an idea of what workouts I want to do before I head into a week. Sometimes I even write them in my planner, because I hate leaving things on my to-do list uncompleted!

  2. Rachel–

    I think what you’re doing is awesome, and I’m so proud of you!

    I always used to struggle with working out too, and I was lucky if I did once a week! However, when I started taking fitness classes at my gym, that all changed! First, it was a set time that I went to every week, which helped me get there. Also, because there was a set exercise plan, I knew what I was doing was actually maximizing my exercise time. Lastly, the more regularly I went, the more people I met. Now, I’m friends with a group of women I met at my classes, which makes me want to go to the gym just so that I can see them!

    I know you have a crazy schedule, but it may be something to look in to. Maybe you could even find something fun to take like zumba! It really made all the difference for me.

    Good luck! I know you can do this!
    Dani 🙂

  3. Rach, another thing to keep in mind is that alot of people who are just starting to add working out to a weight loss routine end up disappointed by the numbers-you start by turning fat into muscle, so you’re not necessarily losing weight, but the difference is still being made, because you’re losing fat, which is way more important. You’re doing great, keep your chin up!

Leave a Reply

