Creating a Routine

In my last post, I noted how important it is to put a plan in place in order to make some real changes:

I think the key to living healthfully is really forming those healthy routines–including consistent exercise time. I attended a “Body Stewardship” class at my church in August, which was so, so valuable, and one of the things the leader emphasized was putting routines in place to keep you structured when the motivation (inevitably) fades.

Unfortunately, I’m a few weeks behind on my plan to re-commit to healthy living, but I did accomplish something major today: I’ve created that weekly schedule, incorporating both spiritual and physical exercise!24 Hour Schedule
This activity played a bit too much into my anal and obsessive-compulsive tendencies, but I love structure and organization. Seeing on paper the changes that need to be made to my weekly schedule to enhance my quality of life is extremely valuable. (I’ve even carved out time specifically for blogging!) I made a similar schedule during college in order to keep myself from getting overwhelmed.

It was also valuable to see what I don’t have time to do right now. I love volunteering with animal rescue organizations, but I just don’t think it is feasible at this time. Where I am right now, my priorities need to be my husband, family and friends, faith and church community, and health.

So, in earnest, I’m going to start this schedule on Sunday–the first day that I will be teaching a Sunday school class of 3rd graders. What a great way to kick off November and turn over several new leaves at once!

Because I am getting started a bit late, I will only have about 2 1/2 weeks to implement this plan before heading to Texas, but I hold firmly to the adage “better late than never.”

Have you created a weekly schedule for yourself?

How do you stay organized?

One thought on “Creating a Routine

Leave a Reply

