Shrove Tuesday Treat: Fasnachts

I will post more about my plans for Lent on Thursday, but for now, I wanted to share my unexpected Shrove Tuesday treat!

This little delight is completely off of my healthy eating plan, but today at work my colleague (and friend) Lindsay brought me a homemade fasnacht that her family made during yesterday’s snow day!

Delicious!

Delicious!

Lindsay’s husband is originally from Pennsylvania (like me) and has Pennsylvania Dutch roots (like me), and he chose to honor the Pennsylvania Dutch tradition of Fasnacht Day by homemaking the donuts this year.

According to Wikipedia:

Fasnacht, sometimes spelled fastnacht, faschnacht, fosnot, fosnaught, fausnaught, is an English name for a fried doughnut served traditionally in the days of Carnival / Fastnacht or on Shrove Tuesday, the day before Lent starts. Fasnachts were made as a way to empty the pantry of lard, sugar, fat, and butter, which were traditionally fasted from during Lent.

The Pennsylvania Dutch in the area surrounding Lancaster, Pennsylvania, celebrate Fastnacht as well. . . .

The German version is made from a yeast dough, deep fried, and coated or dusted in powdered sugar or cinnamon sugar; they may be plain or filled with fruit jam. Pennsylvania Dutch fasnachts can often be potato doughnuts, and may be uncoated, dusted with table sugar, or powdered with confectioner’s sugar. . . .

The word Fastnacht originates from the German words “fast”, which is the shortened version of the verb “fasten”, which means “to fast”, and “Nacht”, meaning night, indicating the eve of the traditional Lenten fasting period observed by many Christian denominations. It is the equivalent celebration to Mardi Gras or Carnevale.

I love traditions that connect me to my German ancestors. My husband is Puerto Rican, and I absolutely love and fully embrace his heritage, but it is really enjoyable to honor pieces of my background, too.

The fasnacht was so delicious–and definitely worth the splurge!

Do you have any Shrove Tuesday traditions?

2 thoughts on “Shrove Tuesday Treat: Fasnachts

  1. I knew you put this on Facebook, but I didn’t realize you blogged about it too! So happy to bring you a piece of home and heritage, friend!

Leave a Reply

