Moderating Expectations

I’ve been struggling the past few days with feeling overwhelmed and putting a lot of pressure on myself. I have always been very hard on myself, and most of the time, the stress and pressure I feel comes from within.

I need a number of reminders today–a reality check to moderate expectations:

1507809_10152260717014892_167391136_n

  • There are only 24 hours in a day, and about 7 of those need to be reserved for sleep in order for me to function at my best.
  • I work a full-time job and commute 45 minutes to an hour each way (about 1 hour and 30 minutes to 2 hours round-trip) every weekday. These are my circumstances right now and I need to work within them.
  • As my accountability partner told me, I need to work at my health and fitness like it’s my second job. Behind the Lord and my husband, this journey needs to be top priority.
  • Realistically, it will take me at least a year to reach my goal weight of 115 pounds. At my weigh-in last week, I was 172.4 pounds–57.4 pounds from my goal weight.  At a rate of loss of 1 pound per week, I will reach my goal in 57 weeks–one year and one week from last Wednesday. Patience is a virtue, and slow and steady wins the race.
  • I love food, and I probably always will, and that’s okay. Even Psalm 34:8a says, “Taste and see that the Lord is good.” (The problem comes when food becomes an idol, a comforter.) I’ve made a number of great, sustainable changes over the last 3 weeks, and there’s still considerable room for improvement, but I’m unwilling to completely give up everything that I love. I read a weight loss success story yesterday about a woman who lost a ton of weight but basically gave up cheese, pizza, and chips, among many other things. I still want to enjoy those foods in moderation. Because of this, my weight loss journey may take a bit longer than others’.
  • Going along with my last point, splurges are okay, as long as they are built into my goals. Also, I shouldn’t feel guilty about decisions that are willfully and knowingly made. Case in point: I really wanted Dominos pizza (the Cali Chicken Bacon Ranch) on Sunday night, and I had it (and loved it). I’ve been eating lightly since then and am planning to make up the 400 or so calorie overage after dinner tonight with a high-powered Zumba class before my weigh-in tomorrow morning.
  • I would love to blog here everyday, but some days it just might not happen. What’s more important are the things I am blogging about: my health journey and my faith, with Scentsy on the side.

Maybe the moral of this story is that I can’t compare myself to anyone else, and I can only do the best that I can. This need not be an excuse–I still need to try my absolute hardest–but I also need to be realistic and give myself some grace.

6139_405783119551191_1374919520_n

Do you struggle with being hard on yourself?

How do you keep momentum when you know the journey will be a long one?

2 thoughts on “Moderating Expectations

Leave a Reply

