Friday Favorites #1: Week of March 21, 2014

Happy Friday, everyone!  We made it!

One of my favorite things about having a blog is learning from and following other bloggers. Going forward, I’ve decided to participate in Heather of Housewife Glamour‘s Friday Favorites link-up!

Housewife Glamour

Here are some of my favorite things from the past week!

1. Snow day on Monday

I was thinking we were only going to have a two hour delay, at best, on Monday morning, but we actually had the whole day off!  It was glorious. I had time to be crafty, read, and relax, which I didn’t do at all last weekend.

2. Moroccan Lentil Soup from Pret a Manger

On Wednesday, I went out to lunch with a new friend at Pret a Manger, one of my absolute favorite soup and sandwich places. They originated in the UK and are all over London, and I went there many times when I studied abroad in college. Pret has journeyed across the pond and is now in New York, D.C., Boston, and Chicago, too!  It was a crazy exciting day about a year after I moved here when I learned that they were coming to D.C.

Anyway, this week I tried their Moroccan Lentil Soup for the first time, and it is absolutely delicious. It is vegetarian and full of fiber and protein, and the flavor is fantastic. I can’t wait to go back and get it again!

3. Working out in the morning

Thursday's a.m. walking/jogging intervals

Thursday’s a.m. walking/jogging intervals

I never, ever in my life thought that I would become a morning exerciser, but I am loving the energy and sense of accomplishment that it gives me first thing in the morning.

4. Scentsy’s Yuzu Dragon fragrance

I keep a Scentsy warmer in my office at work, and to celebrate the first day of spring, I started warming Yuzu Dragon yesterday. The guava and dragonfruit notes are perfect for thinking warm, springy thoughts.

5. Relevant magazine’s articles

I discovered Relevant magazine some time ago, and I am a huge fan. They publish thought-provoking articles on timely topics related to faith, culture, calling, and social justice. I’m not a subscriber to the print piece, but much of their content is available for free online. Yesterday, I read excellent articles on “Why Fred Phelps’ Death Isn’t a Cause for Celebration,” “Your Purpose is Not Your Job,” and “A Pope for Protestants?“. (The article on Pope Francis is premium content but can be accessed by creating an account.)

Thanks again to Heather at Housewife Glamour for hosting the link-up! I look forward to participating each week!  I will be sure to start taking more photos to add them here.

What have you been loving this week?

8 thoughts on “Friday Favorites #1: Week of March 21, 2014

  1. Great work! I couldn’t agree more with the morning workout statement-getting up is always a bit of a challenge, but after I’ve run in the morning, I feel so great! (Plus you’ve taken care of it early, and don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day 🙂 )
    Keep it up, you’d going awesome!

  2. Welcome to the link-up! I’m so glad you are joining the #FFavorites party! Ahhh I need to get back to doing morning workouts. You’re so right, they give you that extra burst of energy for the day. Happy Weekend! 🙂

  3. Love Heather’s blog! 🙂

    I WISH I could be a morning exerciser, but the amount of time I take to get ready in the morning (it’s a little obnoxious) paired with my gym’s hours… it just doesn’t work! 😦 At least when I was teaching I was able to do morning workouts over the summer. I used to LOVE going to the 6:00AM classes. It seemed like I accomplished so much before the rest of the world even got up!

    • I totally agree! Unfortunately, I haven’t done a class on a weekday morning yet, because they start at 5 a.m. Maybe I’ll get there eventually, but that’s just still too early for me right now! I’ll stick to getting up at 5:15 or 5:30, instead of 4:45. Getting up in the 4’s just sounds wrong, haha.

Leave a Reply

