Friday Favorites #2: Week of March 28, 2014

Happy Friday, everyone!  Welcome to my second Friday Favorites link-up, courtesy of Heather at Housewife Glamour!

Housewife Glamour

Here are some of my favorite things from the past week!

1. Making fish for dinner at home without my husband noticing

I’ve been trying to eat more fish, because it is so lean and full of nutrients. The downside is, my husband can’t stand the smell of fish and doesn’t like when I cook it in the house.

Well, he had to work late on Tuesday night, so I was on my own for dinner. I chose to make the Tilapia with Lemon-Garlic sauce that I wrote about in my WIAW post, and he had no idea! He didn’t say anything about smelling fish when he got home. I think that basically means that tilapia is a safe bet to cook when he is around, because it is so mild.

2. Not going out to eat since last Saturday

I never thought that I would say this, but it has actually been very enjoyable not going out to eat so far this week. (Some weeks, I go out for lunch and/or dinner 4 times or more!) I’ve better managed my intake this week and also saved a lot of money!

3. Bumble Bee SuperFresh Salmon

So delicious!

So delicious!

I bought this Bumble Bee salmon on a whim at the grocery store last weekend, and I actually ate both fillets for lunch this week! These are super easy to prepare and taste fantastic. You just put the frozen fillet in a parchment pouch (which is included) and bake it for about 20 minutes. We have a small convection oven at work, and these cook up perfectly. There is no mess and no fishy smell at home to upset my husband!

I paired my salmon with a veggie side and hummus and pita chips. So yummy.

4. BodyPump Class

What a great workout — especially for someone like me, who dreads lifting weights independently! I think I need the instructor there to encourage proper form, too. I’m making it a goal to attend twice per week.

5. This article on using Catholicism to enhance your Protestant faith

I have so much respect for my Roman Catholic brothers and sisters in Christ. There is so much richness in Catholic worship, liturgy, and architecture that speaks to me. That said, I still do consider myself a Protestant. I really love this testimonial found on Christianity Today‘s Her.menuetics website from a fellow believer on “Three Ways Catholic Tradition Bolstered My Protestant Faith.”

All-in-all, it has been a pretty low-key week.

Thanks again to Heather at Housewife Glamour for hosting!

What have you been loving this week?

Leave a Reply

