WIAW #3

Happy What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW), friends!  Here is a look at what I ate yesterday, April 8, 2014.

Thank you for hosting the WIAW link-up, Jenn!

Breakfast: Fage Total 2% Greek Yogurt with Cherry and 1/3 cup maple and cinnamon granola

IMG_20140408_083612225_HDR

A weekday breakfast staple, often enjoyed at my desk at work. (I raved about this combo at length on WIAW #1.)

Lunch: Leftover Mushroom-Stuffed Chicken, buttered egg noodles (1 cup), and sautéed green beans (about 1 cup)

IMG_20140409_072514193_HDR

This chicken is fantastic, as I shared in my favorite recipes post yesterday. Paired with sautéed green beans — another staple of mine that I forgot to photograph — and buttered egg noodles seasoned with the same Italian bread crumbs coating the chicken, this is a complete, yummy meal.

Afternoon Snack: Wegmans Colby Jack Cheese Stick

IMG_20140409_072836411_HDR

This is a pretty standard snack choice for me if I get hungry before lunch or dinner. Simple but delicious!

Dinner: Hummus and pita, Scallops Risotto, and Scottish Salmon at Cava Mezze

IMG_20140408_192958112_HDR

Last night, I went out for dinner at Cava Mezze, a new favorite, in the Clarendon section of Arlington, Virginia, with one of my best friends. I’m currently having a love affair with Greek/Mediterranean food, and it doesn’t get much better than this place. They specialize in small plates, which I love, because you can pick a variety of dishes to try.

Even if I didn’t like anything else at Cava (which couldn’t be further from the truth), I would still go for this Scallops Risotto. Amazing.

IMG_20140408_200218560_HDR

The salmon skewer that I had (which I didn’t take photo of) was incredible, too. And you can’t go wrong with hummus and pita.

Add to this some fantastic conversation, and it was a great night!

***

I just realized that green beans have made an appearance in every one of my WIAW posts! I know what I love, I guess.

All in all, it was a great day of eats!

Are you currently loving a particular restaurant or cuisine? I don’t really cook Greek or Mediterranean food, but I could go out for it at least once a week.

2 thoughts on “WIAW #3

Leave a comment