Friday Favorites #4: Week of April 11, 2014

Happy Friday, everyone, and welcome to my 4th Friday Favorites link-up, courtesy of Heather at Housewife Glamour!

Housewife Glamour

Here are some of the things that I am loving this week!

1. A 3 day weekend

I decided to take last Monday off from work, basically to catch up on stuff at home — like huge piles of laundry — that I’ve been too busy to accomplish over the last few weeks. I had a doctor’s appointment, too, and knew I would already be out of work for part of the day, so I just decided to take the whole thing.

Even though I didn’t really get to relax on Monday, the 3 day weekend was glorious! It was fantastic to have time on a weekday to work out in the afternoon, make a nice dinner, make and freeze homemade muffins for when my family is in town for Easter, and run errands, in between household chores. I wish I could have a 3 day weekend every week.

2. Living near (many of) my best friends

I was very fortunate when I moved to D.C. almost 6 years ago that several friends from college were already living in the area. Some of them have moved away since, but others have come, and my circle has expanded by getting to know friends of friends. I’m incredibly blessed by having such great community here! Although we may not see each other as much as we used to or would like, these ladies enrich my life in so many ways. (And I was so glad to see two of them on separate occasions this week!)

3. My new workout outfit

I finally bought my new workout outfit on Monday! I wanted to get a new pair of Nike shorts like ones that I already owned, so I went to the Nike Factory Store at the outlet mall near our house. Although they didn’t have the exact style that I was looking for, I came away with two new pairs of shorts and a shirt!

IMG_20140410_194907262_HDR

Typically, I’m not at all one for shirts with cocky sayings, but I love this! There is just something about it that boosts my confidence — I am doing this, and I am awesome!

I still have my eye on that Legally Blonde inspired tank, too…

4. Spinach Melt and Chicken Pita from The Perfect Pita

Continuing my obsession with Mediterranean food, I’m completely hooked on the Spinach Melt and Chicken Pita from a local lunch chain called The Perfect Pita. Whenever my close friend and I meet for lunch on a weekday, we always end up there, and I always order this sandwich. Although it was a bit windy, the weather was so nice when we met yesterday that we were able to eat outside! Glorious.

5. One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

This book was recommended to me by some of the women in my small group and a friend from college. I just started it yesterday and am only on page 19, but I have already fallen in love. Ann Voskamp’s writing style is absolutely beautiful and unique, and I can’t wait to dig more into her topic of living a life of gratitude, right where God has me today.

What are you loving this week?

Have you read any good books recently? 

4 thoughts on “Friday Favorites #4: Week of April 11, 2014

    • I am taking the day off on Friday, but I had to use a vacation day for it, because it is not a federal holiday. (Although I don’t work for the government, my job follows the federal government closing schedule.)

      That’s awesome about the trip to Florida! We are going to VA Beach the second week in June, and I’m already in countdown mode!

Leave a Reply

