WIAW #5

Happy What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW), friends!  Here is a look at what I ate yesterday, April 22, 2014.

Breakfast: Thomas’ Bagel Thin sandwich with 1 egg seasoned with Goya Adobo, 2 ounces leftover Honeybaked Ham, and 1 slice Sargento Ultra Thin Sliced Cheddar, with 1 cup Tropicana Orange Juice

Yesterday I enjoyed a variation of my favorite breakfast sandwich: instead of using avocado, I added 2 ounces of leftover Honeybaked Ham from Easter dinner. So delicious!

IMG_20140422_071551319_HDR

And, of course, no breakfast sandwich is complete without 1 cup of this:

IMG_20140422_072901465_HDR

I have serious brand loyalty and typically only buy Tropicana Orange Juice.

Lunch: 2 cups Harris Teeter Organics Moroccan Lentil Soup with Chick Peas and 1 cup sauteed green beans

I made a special soup run to Harris Teeter a few weeks ago, and I decided to give this new-to-me one a try, especially since I love the Moroccan Lentil soup from Pret so much.

IMG_20140422_072827898_HDR

This soup is low in fat and calories and is packed with fiber and Vitamin A. It is very flavorful and actually a little bit sweet. You can even see distinct chunks of veggies within it, in addition to the lentils and chickpeas.

IMG_20140422_121010205_HDR

It was very good, and I will definitely buy it again, but I must say that Pret’s lentil soup still has an edge.

And of course, no WIAW lunch is complete without my favorite sauteed green beans, leftover from Easter dinner!

IMG_20140422_073218723_HDR

Afternoon Snack: Mott’s Natural Applesauce Cup

I was feeling a bit hungry before I went home from work and knew it could be up to 2 hours before dinner, so I decided to eat a small cup of Mott’s Natural Applesauce.

IMG_20140422_165301833_HDR

These little containers always make me a bit nostalgic for my grade school lunchbox.

Dinner: 2 ounces leftover Honeybaked Ham, 3 1/2 ounces leftover Roasted Turkey Breast from Honeybaked Ham, 1 cup Trader Joe’s Garlic Potatoes with Parmesan Sauce, and 1 cup sauteed green beans

IMG_20140422_183627911_HDR

Since I didn’t really feel like cooking last night, and we still have so many leftovers from Easter dinner, I decided to just quickly make a side dish and use what was already prepared.

If you haven’t tried the roasted turkey breast from Honeybaked Ham, you are seriously missing out. It rivals the ham in deliciousness, and that’s definitely saying something.

This was the first time that I made the Garlic Potatoes with Parmesan Sauce from Trader Joe’s, and they were just okay. The ones that got really crispy in the frying pan were good, but overall they needed more flavor — especially more salt. I think if I buy them again, I’ll add some more Parmesan and some spices while they are cooking.

The green beans made an appearance again — that’s twice in one day!

Dessert: Peanut Butter Fudge Cupcake from Georgetown Cupcake and 1 cup 2% milk

We still have some cupcakes leftover from Easter dinner, and I decided to enjoy one for dessert last night. This peanut butter and chocolate combination is one of my favorites.

IMG_20140422_193741087_HDR IMG_20140422_193830748_HDR

I’ve been a Georgetown Cupcake fan for years, even before they had a TV show (which I’ve actually never seen). We even had Georgetown Cupcakes at our wedding in 2010!

(Side note: it just doesn’t feel right to me that Georgetown Cupcake is now in other cities, like Los Angeles and New York. It’s called Georgetown Cupcake for a reason! Okay, rant over.)

Balancing my love of sweets will be more challenging now that Lent is over. I felt like Lent gave me extra power behind me to say no to them, since I was consciously abstaining, but it also proved to me that I can.

***

I walked quite a bit yesterday — over lunch to get my hair cut, and then after dinner with our dog — and because of that, I was able to stay within my calorie target for the day!

Overall, it was a great day of eats! (I feel like I say that every week, but I’m almost always enthusiastic about my meals.)

Thank you for hosting the WIAW link-up, Jenn!

Are you brand loyal? Sometimes I feel like my brand loyalty arises out of nowhere, when in reality, I’m probably just succumbing to the subversive tactics of marketing professionals. Case in point: I have noticed that even after I’ve stopped clipping and using coupons, I continue to buy the brands that I once purchased using them.

Have you ever been to Georgetown Cupcake? Are you into the cupcake craze? I can’t get enough. I will admit that I’ve waited about 45 minutes just to get into Georgetown Cupcake to get one. (Yes, the line is consistently that long!) I pre-ordered them for Easter, though, and you don’t need to wait in the long line when you just go to pick them up.

2 thoughts on “WIAW #5

Leave a Reply

