WIAW #9

Hello friends, and welcome to another edition of What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)!

Here is a look at what I ate today — Wednesday, May 28, 2014.

Breakfast: Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt with Peach and 1/3 cup maple and cinnamon granola

IMG_20140528_083631189_HDR

No surprises here. (I raved about this combo at length on WIAW #1.)

Lunch: Beef loin roast with red wine sauce (about 5 ounces), baked salmon (about 4 ounces), 2 small slices of French bread with 1 butter ball, and steamed carrots

IMG_20140528_115702847_HDR

Can you believe that this amazing meal was completely free?

I attended a lecture over lunch today with a friend from work at the same organization that I went to a few weeks ago, and the complementary catered meal was just as fantastic as last time. The presentation on the necessity of establishing the rule of law and ending violence against the poor in order to effectively combat poverty in developing countries was excellent, too.

Dinner: Chicken parmesan sandwich with a potato roll, 1 slice Sargento Ultra Thin Provolone, 2 homemade chicken tenders, and about 2 tablespoons of marinara sauce, accompanied by homemade shoestring fries with ketchup

IMG_20140528_190607477_HDR

Over the lazy Memorial Day weekend, my hubby and I watched quite a bit of television. One of the shows we enjoy is Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives on the Food Network, and I think we watched two or three episodes during the weekend.

One episode that we watched on Saturday featured a woman who owns a Jamaican restaurant in Nashville, and on the show, she showcased her homemade fried chicken tenders. My hubby, who is brilliant at putting together awesome meals without using a recipe or measurements, jotted down the ingredients that the woman used and the general preparation process. We actually already had all of the ingredients in our freezer and pantry that she used, including boneless, skinless, chicken breasts, so I did not even need to go to the grocery store for us to make them for dinner on Sunday night.

I served as the official assistant in the cooking process, and of course my hubby improvised even further. No complaints here, though — the chicken tenders turned out incredibly! It’s been a long time since I’ve had chicken tenders that were that crispy and good, even from a restaurant. The only conceivable downside was that we made way too many. Enough tenders were left over for a complete second meal, even after we both had more than enough. (I’m still not sure how we got so many out of two chicken breasts!)

That’s where tonight’s dinner comes in! I mentioned to my hubby yesterday that I wanted to heat the leftover chicken tenders for dinner tonight, and when I got home from work today, he was already in the process of preparing chicken parmesan sandwiches with them. Even as leftovers and in sandwich form, these chicken tenders were fantastic. They even retained their crispness by reheating them in our mini counter-top convection oven.

My hubby paired the sandwiches with homemade shoestring fries that he cut by hand and cooked in our mini deep fryer. (Out of all of our wedding gifts, I think the mini deep fryer is the one thing that we use the most!)

I was seriously craving something sweet tonight, but I was able to successfully resist! I want to go back to eating fewer sweets, and I knew that abstaining was the right thing to do tonight, especially because I actually ate 2 to 3 times the amount of fries pictured on my plate above! (Note to self: serving fries table side is not a good idea.)

Can you believe that we still have more leftover chicken fingers? I think I’m going to be making another chicken parmesan sandwich for lunch sometime in the next few days!

***

It was definitely another good day of eats!

Thank you for hosting the WIAW link-up, Jenn!

***

Do you enjoy watching the Food Network? If so, what is your favorite show? We also really enjoy Chopped.

Do you have a deep fryer at home? Our mini version makes frying so easy . . . which is a problem.

3 thoughts on “WIAW #9

  1. When did you sneak that lunch picture in? Ha I totally missed it.
    Also, one time I tried to ‘deep fry’ chicken in just a pan on the stove top and it was a disaster. I think I need to upgrade to whatever you have 🙂

    • I tried to be discreet about taking the food photo so the other people at the table wouldn’t think I was a weirdo, haha. I snapped one photo right when we sat down with our food, and it was exactly what I needed.

      This is the mini deep fryer that we have. I can definitely say that we fry more things because we have it than we would if we didn’t have it! It is super easy to use and minimizes the mess.

Leave a Reply

